Things To Do
Celebrate Norwalk History
The Norwalk Historical Society Museum is located in the former Lockwood House (1973).
Norwalk Historical Society Museum
Located on the Norwalk City Hall campus, the museum is in the former Lockwood House (1973), designed in the Colonial Revival style by architect Margaret Hoyt Smith. The Museum offers self-guided tours, exhibitions, programs, and events to highlight Norwalk’s rich history. The garden offers contemplative views of the Norwalk River from the gazebo.
Mill Hill Historic Park/ Norwalk Historical Society
Located at the top of Mill Hill overlooking the Head of the Norwalk Harbor and adjacent to the Historic Norwalk Town Green, this site includes three pre-1835 historic buildings, a cemetery and colonial herb garden. The Norwalk Historical Society (1890) offers events, programs and exhibitions from May through November. The grounds are open sunrise to sunset.
Norwalk Town Green Historic District
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and centered on the Norwalk Green in central Norwalk, the site includes: the Green, Mill Hill Historic Park, St. Paul’s Place, World War I memorial cannon, a gazebo and 54 buildings – many designed in the 18th & 19th centuries. St. Paul’s on the Green (Episcopal) Church and the First Congregational Church also face the Green. Concerts are held on the Green in the summer.
Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museums
Located in Mathews Park, this magnificent Victorian era mansion (c.1864) is a National Historic Landmark and is considered one of the earliest and most significant Second Empire style country houses in the United States. The museum offers guided tours, award-winning exhibitions, events and programs related to this Norwalk treasure. Open early April – early January.
Center for Contemporary Printmaking
Originally part of the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion estate, the Carriage House (c.1892) is home to the Center for Contemporary Printmaking. CCP is a nationally known, state-of-the-art printmaking facility, studio and gallery space with rotating exhibitions throughout the year. The Gardener’s Cottage (c.1892) is used for the Artist-In-Residence Program.
Sheffield Island Lighthouse
Owned and operated by the Seaport Association, the Sheffield Island Lighthouse was built in 1868 and in service until 1902. A ferry service is available to the Lighthouse from the Sheffield Island dock in South Norwalk. The ferry operates Memorial Day through mid-September.
For 200 years, the land at 328 Flax Hill Road has been a farm. The farm was fully restored and is operated by the City of Norwalk Recreation and Parks Department. The site features 300 community garden plots, a renovated venue for events and culinary demonstrations, a historic homestead, greenhouse, tree farm and an apple orchard.
Pinkney House/Raymond Boathouse Museum/Historic Rowayton
Located along the Five Mile River, the Seeley-Dibble-Pinkney House (c.1820), Raymond Boathouse Museum, and Pinkney Park are the headquarters for Historic Rowayton. Through exhibitions, events, and programs, Historic Rowayton preserves the history of this unique seaside village. Closed in August.
Switch Tower Museum
The fully restored New Haven Railroad switch tower (1896) in South Norwalk has the only “Armstrong” switch lever machine in Connecticut. Railroads used towers to house the mechanism of switching trains from one track to another. Guided tours offered May – October.
WPA Mural Trail
The nationally recognized collection of New Deal WPA (Works Progress Administration) art (1935) was restored by Norwalk’s art and history community. Nearly 50 murals are located throughout Norwalk in City Hall, Norwalk’s Public Libraries, Community College, Transit District, Maritime Aquarium, Rowayton Library and the Norwalk Historical Society Museum.
- East Norwalk Historical Cemetery c.1655
Oldest cemetery in Norwalk (East Norwalk)
- Pine Island Cemetery c.1708
Second oldest in Norwalk (Mathews Park)
- Mill Hill Burying Ground c.1767
Third oldest (Mill Hill Historic Park)
- Brookside Cemetery c.1724 Also known as Five Mile River Cemetery. (Rowayton Ave)
- Kellogg-Comstock Cemetery c.1813